Australasian Quaternary Association Inc.

ABN 78 458 664 047 www.aqua.org.au



Australasian Quaternary Association Inc. (Association number: A0041547) Annual General Meeting 2024 Zoom meeting, April 29th

Attendees: John Tibby, Tim Barrows, Caroline Mather, Marjorie Sullivan, Philip Hughes, Charles Maxson, Johanna Hanson, Matt Harris, Patricia Gadd, Micha Campbell, Bianca Dickson, Scott Mooney, Emma Rehn, Lauren Linnenlucke, Lydia MacKenzie, Haidee Cadd, Greer Gilmer, Juliet Sefton, Alexander Francke, Stephen Piva, Mahfuz Rahman, Nash Griffiths, Fletcher Nixon

Proxies: Annie Lau, Cameron Barr, Patrick Moss

Agenda and Minutes Started: 12:00 (WST)

1. Welcome (John Tibby)

2. Approval of 2023 minutes (John Tibby)

Patricia moved a motion to get 2023 AGM Minutes approved. Lauren seconded the motion and 2023 minutes were approved.

3. Report from the Committee (John Tibby on behalf of and with input from the committee) for Australasian Quaternary Association Inc (Association number: A0041547)

I am very grateful to all the committee members but wish to particularly acknowledge those people who are stepping down or changing roles in 2024: Annie Lau, Patricia Gadd, Micha Campbell, Emma Rehn.

In the last year the Association has:

- Recommenced its mentoring scheme for postgraduate students
- Improved the website and fixed problems with the email addresses of office bearers
- Removed the organisation from Science and Technology Australia as a cost saving measured. The Committee noted that most AQUA members are beneficial members of STA through their university or other associations.
- Made progress towards making AQUA a charitable organisation. Tim Barrows (Chair of the subcommittee) explained rationale and also updates to understanding our reporting requirements and getting organised for formal compliance (report: Tim Barrows and Alex Francke)
- Managed the Leanne Armand award (funds and award allocation)
- Written a letter of support for the bid by the Australian Geoscience Council to host the 38th IUGS International Geological Congress in Melbourne in 2028. Tim Barrows (VP) reported how AQUA might be involved should it proceed, especially enhancing the Quaternary aspect of IGC.
- Preparation for INQUA meeting including allocation of prizes, formal mentoring, practice talks. (John Tibby explains our role in terms of supporting student and ECR attendance at relevant meetings).
- Supporting the AQUA 2024 biennial meeting including supplying assistance to the organisers in applying for AINSE support
- Published Quaternary Australasia (QA) In particular this year saw the 40-yr anniversary edition came out in 2023, with special bumper issue. QA started new section called Quaternary Arts (report: Emma Rehn).
 - 4. Report from Treasurer (Alex Franke on behalf of Annie Lau)

- Explained 2022 year and Leanne Armand establishment and higher money from AQUA2022
 this was amended subsequently to add in the Leanne Armand because we hosts the funds in our accounts.
- Main outgoings in 2023 were student travel to INQUA
- Slight loss in 2023 of \$4667.67 due to the travel support
- Additional donation incoming to Leanne Armand award (now \$17,532.55 balance)
- \$20,613.7 Business transaction account balance
- \$84,069.23 Term deposit account
- Total \$122,215.48

5. Special Resolution: Constitutional changes (Tim)

AQUA is seeking to redefine its tax status to that of a charitable organisation. This will give us Deductible Gift Recipient (DGR) status which will allow donors to the organisation to claim a tax deduction. AQUA currently holds the Leanne Armand Travel Award and the Committee feels that DGR status will encourage more philanthropy to support the organisation and broaden the scope of what we can support. To do this, we are introducing "charitable" into our Constitution. Although we are currently not-for-profit, this clarifies our purpose officially.

Changing the Constitution requires a special resolution at an AGM. This is a very infrequent process, so we also propose some other changes to modernise the Constitution and clarify some clauses at the same time.

The proposed changes are as follows:

- 1. Introducing the word charitable into the Scope,
- 2. Modernising, simplifying, and shortening the Purpose,
- 3. To ensure life members are covered by the same rules as other members,
- 4. Define the Executive Committee,
- 5. Modernise the "Communications Officer" committee position
- 6. To replace the restriction on the terms of the President and Vice President to four years (two biennial meetings) instead of two AGMs.
- 7. To protect members details and comply with both the Corporations Act and Privacy Act.
- 8. Minor edits

We scrolled through the constitution showing exact changes and Tim Barrows who led this subcommittee explained each change.

Tim Barrows moved to accept the changes, Caroline Mather seconded, the meeting unanimously supported the special resolution.

6. Nominations for executive committee positions

1. President

Tim Barrows (nominated by John Tibby) was elected uncontested

2. Vice President

Lydia MacKenzie (nominated by Tim Barrows) was elected uncontested

3. Secretary

Caroline Mather (nominated by Micha Campbell) was elected uncontested

4. Treasurer

Alex Francke (nominated by Juliet Sefton) was elected uncontested

5. Shadow Treasurer

Annie Lau was appointed uncontested

6. Communications Officer

Juliet Sefton and Matt Harris (nominated by Johanna Hanson and Alex Francke) were elected into a joint role.

7. QA Editors

Lauren Linnenlucke (nominated by Juliet Sefton), elected uncontested

8. Shadow QA Editor

Emma Rehn was appointed uncontested

9. John Tibby (Past President)

10. General Members (John Tibby moved to have general members with the roles as outlined below, Scott Mooney seconded. The meeting unanimously supported the nominations and positions)
Micha Campbell (general)
Johanna Hanson (New Zealand representative)
Charles Maxson (ECR and prizes representative)
Teresa Dixon (Student representative)
Greer Gilmer (general)

7. Annual Subscription fee (John Tibby)

Committee have discussed raising fees to \$70 for full membership and \$25 for students. Increased by \$15 and \$5, respectively. John Tibby moved and the meeting unanimously supported the resolution.

Concluded 12.54

Mather

Titly B_

Signed: Caroline Mather (AQUA Secretary) 29th April, 2024

Signed: Timothy barrows (AQUA President) 29th April, 2024