Awards and prizes

 INQUA Congress 2015, Japan – Student and ECR travel prize

Applications have now closed for this award and applicants have been notified of the outcome. Congratulations to the following prize winners:

Shaun Eaves, Victoria University of Wellington: Uniform summertime cooling 
drove glacier advances across New Zealand during the Antarctic Cold 
Jessica Hinojosa, University of Otago: Holocene evolution of marine 
radiocarbon reservoir ages offshore southwest New Zealand: Implications 
for water mass migration and radiocarbon dating accuracy
Claire Krause, Australian National University: New insights on tropical 
vegetation productivity and atmospheric methane over the last 40,000 years 
from speleothems in Sulawesi, Indonesia
Jennifer Wurtzel, Australian National University: Holocene climate 
variability recorded in a speleothem from Sumatra, Indonesia

Life Membership of AQUA

Current life members include: Jim Bowler, Eric Colhoun, John Chappell, Peter Kershaw and John Magee.

The AQUA postgraduate travel prize

This award is not currently available.

Past winners

  • 1999 – John Jansen, The Australian National University
  • 1999 – Nerida Bleakley, Monash University
  • 2000 – Nick Porch, Monash University
  • 2001 – Jessica Reeves, University of Wollongong
  • 2002 – Helen McGregor, The Australian National University
  • 2002 – Mark Hemer, University of Tasmania
  • 2003 – Craig Sloss, University of Wollongong
  • 2004 – Karen Carthew, Macquarie University
  • 2005 – Kira Westaway, University of Wollongong
  • 2006 – Simon Connor, Melbourne University